2022 Scholarship Winners

Meet Local 881 Charitable Foundation Scholarship Winners

Connie Tat

Overall Excellence
$4,000 award

Connie is a member at CVS Pharmacy 3950 (#3247) in Lincolnwood, IL.
Connie is the recipient of the Overall Excellence award and received a $4,000 scholarship. Connie currently
attends The University of Illinois at Chicago and is studying Business Administration.

Union Representative: Mary Keane

Taylor Codak

Northern Illinois
$1,000 award

Taylor is a member at Jewel 125 (#3348) in Bartlett, IL. Taylor is a part of a proud Local 881 family, both her sister and mother work at Jewel Foods also. Taylor was the recipient of the Northern Illinois award and received a $1,000 scholarship. Taylor plans to attend Elgin Community
College in the fall.

Union Representative: Dino Doukas

Madison Kribs

Southern Illinois
$1,000 award

Madison is a member at Rozier’s Country Market in Chester, IL. Madison is the recipient of the Southern Illinois award and received a $1,000 scholarship. In the fall, Madison will attend Southeast Missouri State University and plans to study Nursing.

Union Representative: John Reichling

Three students were awarded academic scholarships by the UFCW Local 881 Charitable Foundation in June 2022. Scholarships were awarded based on regions throughout Illinois, with an additional Overall Excellence award given to the student with the highest score across all regions. Recipients were chosen based on academic excellence, extracurricular activities, community service, and a written essay that demonstrated knowledge of a labor-related topic.

Local 881 prides itself on having a completely independent review process. We invite judges from outside our organization to review the applications and select the winners. This year, the judges included:

Alicia Fidler
Vice President, Marketing, Union Insurance Group

Marv Finkelstein
Retired Professor, SIUE

Daniel  Pogorzelski
Communications Specialist, Office of Illinois Treasurer Michael Frerichs

Joy Fitterer, EdD
District Instructional Coach, Maury County Public Schools

Congratulations to the winners and best wishes for the school year!

Information regarding the 2023 UFCW Local 881 Charitable Foundation Scholarship Program is available here: www.local881ufcw.org/scholarships